Search This Blog

01341--Write a short note on Margaret Drabble.


Margaret Drabble (1939– ). A novelist known for her interest in women’s lives and experiences. Born in Yorkshire, she was educated at Cambridge and enjoyed a brief career as an actor with the Royal Shakespeare Company. (Her first husband, the actor Clive Swift, starred in the British sitcom Keeping Up Appearances.) From 1963 to 1969, Drabble published five novels, including the award-winning The Millstone. It was an impressive beginning, establishing Drabble as a writer in the tradition of George Eliot and Virginia Woolf, interested in the pressures confronting ambitious women. Drabble’s later novels include The Needle’s Eye (1972), The Ice Age (1977), and a trilogy focused on the friendship of three women: The Radiant Way (1987), A Natural Curiosity (1989), and The Gates of Ivory (1991). Her critical writings include essays on classic novelists from Jane Austen and Emily Brontë to Thomas Hardy. Drabble is also the editor of the indispensable reference work The Oxford Companion to English Literature. Her sister is the novelist A. S. Byatt.

[Courtesy: Professor Timothy Spurgin]

Labels

A. S. Byatt (1) Addison (5) ADJECTIVES (2) ADVERBS (1) Aeschylus (1) Agatha Christie (1) Agora (3) American Literature (6) Ann Radcliffe (3) Anthony Powell (1) Anton Chekhov (1) APJ KALAM (1) Arianism (1) Aristotle (10) Athens (1) Avinash Jha (1) Bacon (2) Bakhtin Mikhail (3) Barthes (8) Becket (1) Ben Jonson (9) Bernard Shaw (4) BERTRAND RUSSEL (1) biography (1) Blake (1) Blogger's Corner (4) BOOK REVIEW (3) Books (3) Boswell (1) Brahman (1) Byzantium (1) CELTA (4) Charles Dickens (1) Charles Lamb (3) Charlotte Brontë (1) Chaucer (1) Coleridge (12) COMMUNICATION SKILLS (5) Confucius (1) Critical Thinking (4) Cultural Materialism (1) Daffodils (1) Deconstruction (4) Derrida (3) Doctor Faustus (5) documentary (10) Dr.Johnson (8) Drama (21) Dryden (14) E. M. Forster (1) Ecofeminism (1) Edmund Burke (1) EDWARD SAID (1) elegy (1) Emily Brontë (1) English Lit. Drama (24) English Lit. Essays (6) English Lit.Poetry (217) essays (1) Ethics (5) Evelyn Waugh (1) F.R Lewis (4) facts (1) FALLACY (1) Fanny Burney (1) Feminist criticism (10) Fielding (1) Ford Madox Ford (1) Frances Burney (3) Frantz Fanon (2) FREDRIC JAMESON (1) Freud (3) GADAMER (1) GAYATRI SPIVAK (1) General (4) GENETTE (1) GEORG LUKÁCS (1) George Eliot (1) GILLES DELEUZE (1) Gosson (1) Graham Greene (1) GRAMMAR (89) gramsci (1) Greek Mythology (17) GREENBLATT (1) HAROLD BLOOM (1) Harold Pinter (1) Hemmingway (2) Henry Fielding (1) Henry Green (1) Henry James (2) Hillis Miller (2) History (30) Holes (6) HOMI K. BHABHA (1) Hone Tuwhare (1) Horace (3) I.A.Richards (6) Ian McEwan (1) Indian linguistics (1) Indian Philosophy (8) Indian Writing in English (2) Iris Murdoch (1) Isms (3) James Joyce (1) Jane Austen (5) John Bunyan (2) John Clare (1) john Donne (1) John Osborne (1) John Rawls (1) Joseph Conrad (1) Journalism (1) Judaism (57) Kant (1) Keats (1) KERALA PSC/UPSC/BANK CLERK-PO/IFC English Grammar Exercise (85) Knut Hamsun (1) Kristeva (2) Lacan (3) Laurence Sterne (2) LINDA HUTCHEON (1) linguistics (4) linking phrases (1) linking words (1) LIONEL TRILLING (1) Literary criticism (194) literary terms (285) LOGIC (13) Longinus (4) Louis Sachar (6) LUCE IRIGARAY (1) lyric (1) Margaret Drabble (1) Marlowe (4) Martin Luther King Jr. (1) Marxist criticism (3) Mass Communication (1) Matthew Arnold (13) METAPHORS (1) MH Abram (2) Michael Drayton (1) MICHEL FOUCAULT (1) Milton (4) Modernism (1) Monroe C.Beardsley (2) Moses (1) Mulla Nasrudin Stories (224) Muses (1) MY POEMS (17) Nachmanides (1) Narratology (1) New Criticism (2) Noel Coward (1) NORTHROP FRYE (1) Norwegian Literature (1) Novel (44) O'Brien (1) Objective Types (8) Oscar Wilde (2) OSHO TALES (3) Panini (1) Parthenon (1) Pat Barker (1) PAUL DE MAN (1) PAUL RICOEUR (1) Pericles (2) Petrarch (1) PHILOSOPHY (4) PHOTOS (58) PIERRE FÉLIX GUATTARI (1) Plato (7) Poetry (24) Pope (5) Post-Colonial Reading (2) Postcolonialism (3) Postmodernism (5) poststructuralism (8) Prepositions (4) Prometheus Bound (1) Psychoanalytic criticism (4) Psychology (3) PYTHAGORAS (1) QUEER THEORY (1) Quotes-Quotes (8) Religion (1) Richardson (1) Robert Frost (7) ROMAN OSIPOVISCH JAKOBSON (1) Romantic criticism (20) Ruskin (1) SAKI (1) Salman Rushdie (1) Samuel Daniel (1) Samuel Pepys (1) Samuel Richardson (2) SANDRA GILBERT (1) SAT (2) Saussure (12) SCAM (1) Seamus Heaney (1) Shakespeare (158) Shelley (2) SHORT STORY (2) Showalter (9) Sidney (5) SIMONE DE BEAUVOIR (1) Sir Arthur Evans (1) Sir Walter Scott (3) SLAVOJ ZIZEK (1) SONNETS (159) Sophocles (1) spenser (3) St.Augustine (6) STANLEY FISH (1) structuralism (14) Sunitha Krishnan (1) Surrealism (2) SUSAN GUBAR (1) Sydney (3) T.S.Eliot (12) TED TALK (10) Tennesse Williams (1) Tennyson (1) TERRY EAGLETON (1) The Big Bang Theory (3) Thomas Gray (1) Thomas Hardy (1) Titan (1) Torah (1) tragedy (2) UGC-NET (10) Upanisads (1) Vedas (1) video (34) Virginia Woolf (2) Vocabulary test (228) W.B. Yeats (1) W.K.Wimsatt (2) WALTER BENJAMIN (1) Walter Pater (2) Willam Caxton (1) William Empson (2) William Makepeace Thackeray (2) WOLFGANG ISER (1) Wordsworth (15) writers (1) writing skill (1) Zadie Smith (1) ആത്മീയത (1) എന്‍റെ കഥകള്‍ (5) കഥ (62) കാറുകൾ (1) തത്വചിന്ത (14) ബ്ലോഗ്ഗര്‍ എഴുതുന്നു (7) ഭഗവത്‌ഗീതാ ധ്യാനം (1) മുല്ലാ നസറുദ്ദീൻ (53) സാഹിത്യ ലോകം (1)